Directorate of Honours and Awards

National Emergency Medal North Queensland Floods 2019

On 30 March 2020, the Honourable Ben Morton MP, Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister and Cabinet announced that Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 has been declared a nationally-significant emergency for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal.

The National Emergency Medal may be awarded to members of eligible organisations, or individuals, who have given sustained or significant service during national emergencies.

It is currently issued to recognise the bushfires that happened in Victoria in February 2009, the floods that happened in Queenland during December 2010 and January 2011, and Cyclone Yasi, Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 and the floods that happened in the North Queensland in January and February 2019.



Administered by a specific committee

The Department of Defence does not administer the National Emergency Medal.

The medal is administered by the Australian Honours and Awards Secretariat at Government House which provides a Secretariat to the National Emergency Medal Committee. A nationally significant emergency event must be declared by the Governor-General under the National Emergency Medal Regulation 2011, including specific criteria for the award.

Eligibility criteria

The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria for the North Queensland Floods 2019:

- Service performed during the North Queensland Floods 2019 will be recognised though the clasp, 'NTH QLD 2019'.
- Service must be in the protection of lives and property; or in the service of interests, that
 are not their own; in direct response to the emergency (including support that enables or
 facilitates the emergency response).
- The geographical areas consist of the following local government areas, as at 25 March 2017. <u>Queensland</u>: Aurukun, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama River, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mapoon, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah.
- The qualifying period begins on 25 January 2019 and ends on 14 February 2019; and
- The minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is 5 days.



UNCONTROLLED IF PRINTED

National Emergency Medal and North Queensland Floods 2019

The National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011 established two avenues of consideration for how the National Emergency Medal may be awarded:

- 1. The Governor-General may, on the recommendation of the Secretariat, award to a person who has given sustained service during a nationally-significant emergency the Medal and a clasp denoting the nationally-significant emergency.
- 2. The Governor-General may, on the recommendation of the Committee, award to a person who has given significant service during a nationally-significant emergency the Medal and a clasp denoting the nationally-significant emergency.

Applications

Defence will develop a list of eligible ADF personnel and employees of Defence. Individuals are not required to submit an application.

April 2020 | Version 1