skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Defence Infrastructure Division

HMAS Cerberus Redevelopment

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

PWC Process Stages

The PWC’s Manual of Procedures for Departments and Agencies identifies eight steps in the PWC process:

  1. Identification of the need to refer a proposed public work to the PWC;
  2. the preparation of a submission to the PWC (the Statement of Evidence);
  3. the referral of a proposed project to the PWC;
  4. pre-public hearing activities;
  5. site inspection;
  6. public hearing and follow-up; and
  7. the tabling of the PWC’s report in the House of Representatives and the Senate.
  8. Parliamentary approval by the House of Representatives for work to commence.

In practice, the Department of Defence groups these steps into three distinct phases: referral, hearing, and expediency.

The key steps in the PWC process for – HMAS Cerberus Redevelopment include:

  1. Referral: HMAS Cerberus Redevelopment was referred in Parliament on 22 June 2017.
  2. Hearing: The Hearing Venue and Date will be published by the PWC on their website after the Project is referred.  
  3. Expediency: The Expediency date will be published on the PWC website after the PWC Outcomes report is tabled in the Parliament.
Click here for a link to the Statement of Evidence for the HMAS Cerberus Redevelopment.