skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer



The Zangger Committee

A missile launches from a platform in the desert

The Zangger Committee was established in 1971 when major nuclear suppliers, including Australia, came together to reach a common understanding on how to implement their obligation under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) not to supply nuclear material and equipment to non-nuclear weapon states outside the NPT unless International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) safeguards were in place.

In 1974, the Committee published a list of items - known as the Trigger List - that could be transferred to non-nuclear-weapon states outside the NPT only on condition of certain safeguards and assurances.

The Committee established three conditions for supply; an assurance of non-explosive use, a requirement that the item be placed under IAEA safeguards, and an assurance that the receiving state would apply the same conditions when transferring the items to other states.

The Committee currently has 39 members.