skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer



The Autonomous Sanctions Act 2011

A cargo ship

As well as the sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council under the Charter of the United Nations Act 1945, Australia also imposes autonomous sanctions on certain countries and individuals to support our foreign policy objectives.  

As with UNSC Sanctions, autonomous sanctions can include arms embargoes, travel and financial sanctions, civil aviation restrictions and import and export bans of certain commodities. 

The Autonomous Sanctions Act 2011 is regulated by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. The details of which countries and entities are subject to autonomous sanctions, and the nature of the sanctions can found on the Autonomous Sanctions page of the DFAT website.

Further information relating to the status of all sanctions can be found on the DFAT website.

To contact DFAT for further information about sanctions, use the Online Sanctions Administration System.