skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Defence Community Organisation

For ADF members and their families

1800 624 608

ADF Member and Family Transition Seminar

ADF Member and Family Transition Seminars help you and your family prepare for your transition into civilian life. You and your family are welcome to attend at any time during your ADF career. Seminars are held nationally where you'll have access to information on topics like:

  • transition support and administration
  • future employment
  • finance and superannuation
  • Department of Veterans' Affairs
  • veteran and family support services
  • ADF Reserves.

Over the past year, DCO have been working to change the current ADF Member and Family Transition Seminar based off feedback from members and their families.

At the new seminars, you can get information relevant to your circumstances by visiting our expo floor or attending information sessions. You’ll be able to choose sessions depending on your interests, and talk one-to-one with representatives from a wide range of stakeholder groups who will provide you with information on transition and the transition support available to you.

If you are an ADF member and would like to attend a seminar register your attendance through CAMPUS. ADF families and support people can register their attendance by emailing Transition National Support Team (adf.transition@defence.gov.au) including the PMKeys number of the ADF member they are supporting.

For enquiries regarding the seminars you can email Transition National Support Team.

2019 seminar dates

Location Dates
Perth Wednesday, 01 May 2019
Canberra Wednesday, 08 May 2019
Wagga Monday, 13 May 2019
Shoalhaven Wednesday, 22 May 2019
Tindal Tuesday, 28 May 2019
Brisbane Tuesday, 04 June 2019
Adelaide Wednesday, 19 June 2019
Townsville Wednesday, 26 June 2019
Sydney Wednesday, 24 July 2019
Cairns Wednesday, 31 July 2019
Regional Victoria Wednesday, 28 August 2019
Newcastle Wednesday, 04 September 2019
Townsville Wednesday, 11 September 2019
Albury Wednesday, 25 September 2019
Melbourne Wednesday, 02 October 2019
Darwin Wednesday, 09 October 2019
Perth Tuesday, 15 October 2019
Brisbane Tuesday, 22 October 2019
Adelaide Thursday, 31 October 2019
Sydney Wednesday, 06 November 2019
Canberra Wednesday, 13 November 2019
Townsville Thursday, 21 November 2019
Shoalhaven Wednesday, 27 November 2019

Seminar presentations

The following presentations are delivered at each ADF Member and Family Transition Seminar:

  • Chief of Defence Force welcome
    Chief of the Defence Force General Angus Campbell, AO, DSC highlights to members and their families the importance of engaging with their unit chain of command early and ensuring they stay informed and educated about the transition options available.
  • ADF Transition
    Provides an overview about the support ADF Transition can provide you through the transition process.
  • Healthcare
    Covers the public health system, and private health insurance considerations.
  • Success in Career
    During the seminar, this presentation covers essential aspects for those seeking a successful transition to civilian employment.
  • Success in Retirement
    During the seminar, this presentation covers essential aspects for those seeking a successful transition to retirement.